Planning and Zoning Commission

Planning and Zoning Commission Information


Ransom Ellis, Chairman
Appointed June 9, 2014
Ward: 2

Darran Campbell, Vice Chairman
Appointed July 20, 2021
Ward: 2

John Alexander, Commissioner
Appointed November 20, 2021
Ward: 3

Brian Doubrava, Commissioner
Appointed July 20, 2021
Ward: 3

Jeff Hayes, Commissioner
Appointed February 6, 2023
Ward: 4

Cynthia Hyder, Commissioner
Appointed June 18, 2019
Ward: 3

Michael Mann, Commissioner
Appointed April 19, 2022
Ward: 1

Garry Wilson, Council Liaison
Appointed June 13, 2016
Phone: 417-732-2827

About the Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of seven citizens appointed by the Mayor with the majority approval of the City Council. All members of the Commission shall be residents of the City, and membership of the Commission shall consist of at least one representative from each Ward within the City. Members of the Commission shall serve a four-year term.

The Planning and Zoning Commission typically meets the second Monday of every month to review and make recommendations to the City Council for approval or denial of Rezoning cases, Preliminary Plats, Special Use Permits, and Amendments to the Zoning Regulations and the Subdivision Regulations. The Commission's primary responsibility is to create, adopt and amend a Comprehensive Plan to guide the development of the City.

Planning and Zoning meetings are held in the new City Council Chambers located within the Republic Police Department, 540 Civic Boulevard.   See the meeting schedule below for 2021 meeting dates.

Meeting Schedule - Click Here for Submittal Schedule
Planning and Zoning Meetings are held once a month on Monday nights.

Packets for Upcoming and Previous Meetings

Each month the BUILDS Department publishes the Agenda for the month's meeting and combines materials related to that meeting's agenda items into one document. These documents become available prior to each meeting. You may access past and upcoming packets on the P&Z Agenda Tracker page here.